SMU Directory of Experts

Select a Category
Nuclear Medicine
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. Trevor Mdaka Head of Department (HOD) Radio pharmacy Centre of Service and Training Excellence trevor.mdaka@smu.ac.za 012 521 4604
General Surgery
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. MZ Koto HOD Clinical Trial Laboratory zacharia.koto@smu.ac.za 012 521 4153
Skills Centre
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. I Treadwell Director Learning Opportunities, Objectives and Outcome Platform (LOOOP) ina.treadwell@smu.ac.za 012 521 3317
Plastic And Reconstructive Surgery
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. ZF Annandale HOD Cleft Palate Surgery and Management of Burns grysie.annandale@smu.ac.za 012 521 4006
Urology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. SBA Mutambirwa HOD Combined Intersex Multi- disciplinary Team shingai.mutambirwa@smu.ac.za 012 521 5632
Human Nutrition & Dietetics
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Mrs M Manafe HOD Human Nutrition and Dietetics mashudu.manafe@smu.ac.za 012 521 4186
Mrs C MacDougall Senior Lecturer Therapeutic Nutritionist caida.macdougall@smu.ac.za 012 521 4296
Dr Ncube Senior Lecturer Food Service Management lindie.ncube@smu.ac.za 012 521 4079
Nursing Science
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr Yolinda Uys Lecturer Medical Surgical Nursing Occupational Nursing Science Evidence based practice and Education

Nursing Education

Yolinda.uys@smu.ac.za 012 521 3078
Occupational Therapy
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof TA Ramukumba HOD Occupational Therapy Education alfred.ramukumba@smu.ac.za 012 521 4495
Mrs RA Lesunyane Senior Lecturer Occupational Therapy in Psychiatry and Mental Health annah.lesunyane@smu.ac.za 012 521 4020
Pharmacy
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof N Schellack Associate Professor Paediatric Pharmacy, Clinical Pharmacy, Medicine induced ototoxicity natalie.schellack@smu.ac.za 012 521 3286
Prof Beverley Summers Senior Lecturer Sunscreens, Cosmetic safety and efficacy tests beverley.summers@smu.ac.za 012 521 4673
Mr K Bassey Senior Lecturer Medicinal plant extraction, analysis and quality control edward.bassey@smu.ac.za 012 521 5841
Elmien Bronkhorst Senior Lecturer Clinical Pharmacy: Critical Care elmien.bronkhorst@smu.ac.za 012 521 3285
Mr Godfrey Keele Senior Lecturer Pharmaceutical Quality Systems and Pharmacoeconomics godfrey.keele@smu.ac.za 012 521 5903
Physiotherapy
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr BF Mtshali Senior Lecturer Physiotherapy: Sport and Exercise Bhekiwe.Mtshali@smu.ac.za 012 521 4048
Public Health
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof K Mokwena HOD Health Promotion and Health Kebogile.Mokwena@smu.ac.za 012 521 4613
Prof S Madiba Acting HOD Adolescent Health sphiwe.madiba@smu.ac.za 012 521 3093
Speech Language Pathology & Audiology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof Sandra du Plessis HOD Multilingualism sandra.duplessis@smu.ac.za 012 521 3601
Director’s Office
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof OA Ayo-Yusuf Director Epidemiology and Policy analysis, Tobacco control, Health disparities and Resilience studies lekan.ayo-yusuf@smu.ac.za 012 521

4800/4801

Community Dentistry
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr A Khan Lecturer Epidemiology, Humans Resources of Health, Health systems, service learning akhan@smu.ac.za 012 521 4848
Dr MG Phalwane Lecturer Community Service Learning grace.phalwane@smu.ac.za 012 521 4862
Maxillofacial & Oral Radiology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof CEE Noffke HOD Diagnostic interpretation of radiographic images of the maxillofacial and oral region Claudia.Noffke@smu.ac.za 012 521 4902
Dr NJ Chabikuli Lecturer Diagnostic interpretation of radiographic images of the maxillofacial and oral region Ntombizonke.Chabikuli@smu.ac.za 012 521 4904
Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr TI Munzhelele HOD HIV and Salivary Gland Diseases irene.munzhelele@smu.ac.za 012 521 4859
Dr JM Mchenga Lecturer Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery, Trauma, Clefts education james.mchenga@smu.ac.za 012 521 4867
Dr MM Tlholoe Consultant Mandible reconstruction tlholoem@gmail.com 012 521 4856
Prof MM Bouckaert Chief Specialist Gross Pathology, Orthognathic soft tissue reconstruction michael.bouckaert@smu.ac.za 012 521 4858
Operative Dentistry
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof JH Olivier HOD Stress amongst Dentists and coping with such stress jan.olivier@smu.ac.za 012 521 4814
Dr CH Jonker Senior Lecturer Endodontic dentistry and comparative veterinary endodontics Casper.Jonker@smu.ac.za 012 521 3403
Community Dentistry
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr A Khan Lecturer Epidemiology, Humans Resources of Health, Health systems, service learning akhan@smu.ac.za 012 521 4848
Dr MG Phalwane Lecturer Community Service Learning grace.phalwane@smu.ac.za 012 521 4862
Orthodontics
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr P Sethusa HOD Malocclusion types amongst South Africans, Orthognathic surgical management, Cleft Lip & Plate Peter.Sethusa@smu.ac.za 012 521 4853
Dr ME Makofane Lecturer Malocclusion types amongst South Africans Mosidi.Makofane@smu.ac.za 012 521 4850
Dr MI Khan Sessional Specialist Malocclusion types amongst South Africans, Treatment methods related to the prevailing, Malocclusion types mikhanortho@wol.co.za 012 521 5762
Oral Biology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr HD Miniggio Lecturer Molecular biology of bone metabolism, signalling pathways in bone remodelling, Bioethics Hilde.Hendrik@smu.ac.za 012 521 4882
Prosthodontics
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof ARM Essop Chief Specialist Maxillofacial prostheses abdool.essop@smu.ac.za 012 521 3335
Dr YF Solomons Specialist Prosthodontist Implant supported prostheses, Cosmetic Dentistry, Maxillofacial Prosthodontics, Laser assisted dental treatment Yvette.Solomon@smu.ac.za 012 521 4815
Periodontology & Oral Medicine
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof L Feller HOD Oral Melanin Pigmantations, Implant surfaces, Oral Cancer liviu.feller@smu.ac.za 012 521 4835
Prof NH Wood Head Clinical Unit Oral HPV infection, HIV- associated Oral lesions and diseases, Antibiotic prophylaxis, Periodontal regeneration neil.wood@smu.ac.za 012 521 3907
Oral Pathology & Microbiology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof EJ Raubenheimer HOD Metabolic bone diseases, pathology of the craniofacial bones Erich.Raubenheimer@smu.ac.za 012 521 4839
Prof S Boy Specialist Diagnostic histopathology of the head and neck, HIV-related lymph proliferative diseases, Comparative Oral Biology and Oral Pathology Sonja.Boy@smu.ac.za 012 521 4869
Dr MJM Masilela Specialist Salivary gland disease Mokgobja.Masilela@smu.ac.za 012 521 4874
Anatomical Pathology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof NM Bida HOD General Pathology meshack.bida@smu.ac.za 012 521 4414
Dr MJ Chokoe- Maluleka Consultant/ Lecturer Anatomical Pathology mmaphuti.chokoe@nhls.ac.za 012 521 4689
Dr BM Nemukongwe Consultant/ Lecturer Lymphoma brenda.ratlabala@nhls.ac.za 012 521 4190
Chemical Pathology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof AA Khine HOD Lipid disorders Ayeye.khine@smu.ac.za 012 521 4414
Dr KB Sedumedi Consultant/ Lecturer Nutritional anaemia in HIV patients Barbara.sedumedi@smu.ac.za 012 521 4250
Microbiology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof M Nchabeleng HOD HIV Prevention, Clinical trials; Infection Control; Antimicrobial resistance maphoshane.nchabeleng@smu.ac.za 012 521 5667
Dr C Maluleka Pathologist Antimicrobial resistance (Beta-lactamase producing pathogens) mailto:maluleka_c@yahoo.com
caroline.maluleka@nhls.ac.za
012 521 4570
Dr M le Roux Senior Scientist Mycoplasmas; Sexually transmitted diseases; Molecular Biology marcelle.leroux@smu.ac.za 012 521 4109