Select Page


Call for Nominations: Two Representatives of Donors to serve on the Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University Council

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) plays an important role in addressing the human capital needs of South Africa and the rest of the African continent in both health care and science & technology fields.

The Council of the SMU is the governing body of the University, and has, as part of its fiduciary duty, a responsibility to determine the strategic direction of the University.

Two vacancies in the category of Council members elected from the ranks of the donors of the University have to be filled for a four-year term, aligned to the Council’s term of office.

The nomination process for the two donor representatives on the Council of the SMU is described in paragraph 59 of the SMU Statute as follows:

  1. The Registrar must call for written nominations of persons to be elected from the ranks of the University donors in the printed and/or electronic media, as appropriate.
  2. Nominations must be signed by at least two proposers and by the nominee, indicating his or her acceptance of the nomination.

All donors who qualify as such in terms of Chapter 10 of the Statute of the SMU, i.e. persons or organisations that have donated R20 000 or more over a five-year period (2015 to 2019), are hereby invited to nominate persons from the ranks of the donors to serve on the Council of the University.

Each nomination should be accompanied by a short curriculum vitae of the nominee and must be signed or seconded by at least two donors. In addition, the nominee must indicate his/her acceptance of the nomination in writing. Nomination forms are available from the Office of the Registrar.

Nominations must reach the Registrar of the University no later than 16:00 on Wednesday, 30 September 2020.

The Registrar will deal with the nominations in accordance with the election procedures set out in the Statute and announce the results in due course. A Council member thus appointed will serve on the Council in his or her personal capacity and not as a representative of any interest group.

Please direct all enquiries and nominations to Ms Tshepo Dorcus Malemela, Office of the Registrar, Clinical Pathology Building, 5th Floor via email to