Select Page

About the department

Mecru Clinical research Unit (MeCRU) is a unit which was established at Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University from October 2005. The clinical facility was established with the support of MRC through the South African AIDS Vaccine Initiative (SAAVI) and was officially opened by Minister of Health, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, on the 3rd of June 2010.

It is strategically located at the Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) where there is wide spectrum of qualified researchers from various fields of Health fraternity and is adjacent to Dr George Mukhari Academic Hospital, a 1400 bed tertiary hospital.

MeCRU is within a radius of 28km of a population size of about 1.2 million people in: 4 townships (Garankuwa, Soshanguve, Mabopane, and Mothotlung), several villages (Winterveldt, Kgabalatsane, Klipgat, and Hebron etc.), and Northern Western suburbs of Pretoria (Akasia-Orchards, Chantell, Amandasig, Nina Park, and Theresa Park etc.).