Select Page

Dean’s Message

 LekalakalaThe School of Health Care Sciences is the second largest school within the Faculty of Health Sciences. It comprises of six departments being Human Nutrition and Dietetics, Nursing Sciences, Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and Public Health.

Our undergraduate curriculum includes outreach programs/projects and has the vision of producing health practitioners of high academic, moral, ethical and professional standard. Our programmes are evaluated by external examiners from other universities and at 5 year cycle by the Health Professions Council of South Africa, Nursing and Pharmacy councils.

Students obtain clinical experience at various facilities including hospitals, clinics and Community Based programs in Mpumalanga, Gauteng, North-West and Limpopo province. There is a variety of post-graduate studies offered in most departments within the school. Our students enjoy a very healthy relationship with departments within which they are registered and the fellow students within the school. The overwhelming support from students in outreach programs is heartening and makes the school very proud.

School of Health Care Sciences is committed to excellence in education, research and community engagement contributing towards the development of South African and internationally acclaimed Faculty of Health Sciences
Prof E. Lekalakala-Mokgele