Select Page

Service Delivery

Service Delivery

The Department of Anaesthesiology provides services to a wide array of departments within Dr George Mukhari Academic Hospital, as well as in neighbouring hospitals. The registrars and medical officers in the department receive focused training, both practical and theoretical, by dedicating time to set outcomes covered by well-structured rotations. Undergraduate students as well as nursing staff also receive coordinated training in Anaesthesiology.

Dr George Mukhari Academic Hospital

Dr George Mukhari Academic Hospital (DGMAH), formerly known as Ga-Rankuwa Hospital, was built in 1972 and is situated in Ga-Rankuwa, on the north-western part of Tshwane Region of Gauteng Province.

DGMAH was initially a regional hospital, tertiary services were added subsequent to the establishment of Medical University of South Africa (MEDUNSA) in 1974, to which DGMAH serves as the health sciences teaching platform.

DGMAH gained academic status in 2011 which was followed by the establishment of the new Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU), building on the legacy of the old MEDUNSA.

Rotations: Theatre allocations are done according to pre-assigned rotation groups.

  • ICU
  • Cardio-Thoracic
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Major Surgery and Trauma: Hepatobiliary, Gynae Oncology, Plastic Surgery, Emergency Theatre
  • Major Surgery and Trauma: Orthopaedics and Urology
  • Head and Neck: ENT, Ophthalmology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Paediatrics
  • Remote Location: Radiology, Dental Hospital, Angio Suites, Brits Hospital.

Brits District Hospital

The Anaesthesiology department of SMU provides services at Brits Hospital. Anaesthesia for surgical patients are done under consultant supervision. Staff involved in the Brits Hospital theater complex also benefit from training provided

Odi Hospital
Proposed future service delivery.

Jubilee Hospital
Proposed future service delivery.

Pretoria West Hospital
Proposed future service delivery.

Job Shimankane Hospital
Proposed future service delivery.