Select Page

SMU Directory of Experts

Select a Category
School of Pharmacy
Name Designation Field of Expertise Email Address      Phone/Mobile
DEAN’S OFFICE
Prof Patrick Demana Full Professor

Dean

Pharmaceutics: formulations, novel drug delivery systems; nanotechnology; traditional medicine patrick.demana@smu.ac.za 012 521 4080

0825573395

Ms Lindi Mabope Senior Lecturer PBL Training; Students (Staff) Support, Student Induction, monitoring and evaluation, Student Mentorship; Selection lindi.zikalala@smu.ac.za 012 521 4647
PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES
Prof Beverley Summers Full Professor

(part-time)

Radiopharmacy; radiopharmaceutics and radiopharmaceuticals- formulation, dosing and safety

Photobiology: Dermatological testing, Sunscreens, cosmetic safety and efficacy

beverley.summers@smu.ac.za 012 521 4673
Dr Mamza Mothibe Senior Lecturer

Acting HoD

Pharmacology & Toxicology; Drug Discovery and Phytomedicine, Traditional medicines- Biological activities and pharmacological mechanisms;

Pharmacology education

mamza.mothibe@smu.ac.za 012 521 3898/4212

0832368510

Dr Oluwatoyin Adeleke Senior Lecturer Pharmaceutics; Nano/Micro-Structured Pharmaceutical Formulations- Systematic Design and Evaluation, Anti-tuberculosis drugs for paediatric use oluwatoyin.adeleke@smu.ac.za 012 521 3091
Dr Marnus Milne Senior Lecturer Pharmaceutical chemistry; Structure and stability of Active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) marnus.Milne@smu.ac.za 012 521 3098
Dr Edward Bassey Senior Lecturer Pharmaceutical chemistry; Drug discovery and Phytomedicine: Extraction, isolation and structural elucidation of phytochemicals edward.bassey@smu.ac.za 012 521 3239
Ms Lorraine Thom Senior Lecturer Pharmaceutics, dermatological preparations lorraine.thom@smu.ac.za 012 521 3901
Dr Godfrey Keele Senior Lecturer

(part-time)

Industrial Pharmaceutical Policy and regulation;

Pharmaceutical Pricing, Pharmaceutical Quality Systems and Local Production of Pharmaceuticals

godfrey.keele@smu.ac.za 0836819623
Ms Veena Abraham Lecturer Public Health; Patient safety, Pharmacology education veena.abaraham@smu.ac.za 012 521 3902
Ms Maryke Lundie Lecturer Radiopharmacy; radiopharmacology; radiopharmaceutics- formulation, dosing and safety of radiopharmaceuticals maryke.kahts@smu.ac.za 012 521 3082
Mr Madan Poka Lecturer Industrial pharmacy, Industrial pharmacy practice; Pharmaceutics, Novel drug delivery systems – Polymorphism & Amorphism madan.poka@smu.ac.za 012 521 4212
Mr Gedeon Mulamba Lecturer (part-time) Industrial Pharmacy, Biopharmaceutics: novel drug delivery systems, oral cavity drug preparations gedeon.mulamba@smu.ac.za 012 521 3081
Ms Shoeshoe Mokhele Lecturer (part-time) Biopharmaceutics, Novel drug delivery systems and excipients; Phytomedicine shoeshoe.mokhele@smu.ac.za 012 521 4240
Mr Sipho Mapfumari Lecturer (part-time) Pharmaceutical chemistry; Drug discovery and Phytomedicine: extraction, isolation and structural elucidation of phytochemicals sipho.mapfumari@smu.ac.za 012 521 4280
Ms Patience Mamabolo Junior Lecturer

(part-time)

Pharmaceutical chemistry; Drug discovery and Phytomedicine: extraction, isolation and structural elucidation of phytochemicals; medicines registration mamabolopatience@gmail.com 012 521 4212

079 404 3872

PUBLIC HEALTH PHARMACY AND MANAGEMENT
Prof Hannelie Meyer Full Professor

Acting HoD

Vaccination as a pillar of antimicrobial stewardship; Rational Medicines Use (Adherence; Pharmacovigilance; Pharmacoeconomics) hannelie.meyer@smu.ac.za 012 521 4567

083 629 0678

Prof Rob Summers Emeritus Professor Medicines Management; Pharmacovigilance robert.summers@smu.ac.za 012 521 3699
Prof Brian Godman Honorary Professor Medicine utilisation review and policy review: work with governments, WHO, health authorities, health insurance companies, their advisers and researchers across countries and continents, optimising the efficient use of medicines to maximise patients’ health within available resources. briangodman@outlook.com Use email
Prof Selente Bezuidenhout Associate Professor HIV education and sexual diversity selente.bezuidenhout@smu.ac.za 012 521 4269
Dr Moliehi Matlala Senior Lecturer Medicine utilisation review; Clinical Pharmacy; Pharmacoeconomics; Pharmacovigilance moliehi.matlala@smu.ac.za 012 521 4741
Mr Mncengeli Sibanda Lecturer Hospital and Pharmacy Management; Clinical trial registration; African traditional medicines regulation; Adult vaccination mncengeli.sibanda@smu.ac.za 012 521 3047
Mr Kesentseng Mahlaba Lecturer Medicines Management; Policy Analysis (Vaccines) kesentseng.mahlaba@smu.ac.za 012 521 3699
Mrs Elvera Helberg Senior Lecturer (part-time) Management and Leadership in the pharmaceutical environment elvera@mweb.co.za 0825723757
Mr Lourens van der Merwe Lecturer (part-time) Management of Pharmaceutical Services; Pharmacy and Healthcare Legislation lourensvandermerwe@yebo.co.za 082 490 4152
CLINICAL PHARMACY
Prof Natalie Schellack Full Professor

Acting HoD

Paediatric Pharmacy, Clinical

Pharmacy, medicine induced ototoxicity

natalie.schellack@smu.ac.za 012 521 3286
Prof Andries Gous Full Professor Clinical Pharmacy: Critical Care, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacogenomics, antimicrobial stewardship andries.gous@smu.ac.za 012 521 4312
Dr Elmien Bronkhorst Senior Lecturer Clinical Pharmacy: Critical Care elmien.bronkhorst@smu.ac.za 012 521 3285
Ms Deirdre Engler Lecturer Clinical Pharmacy: pharmacotherapy, medicine induced ototoxicity deirdre.engler@smu.ac.za 012 531 5647
Ms Phumzile Skosana Lecturer Clinical Pharmacy: antimicrobial stewardship antibiotic utilisation phumzile.skosana@smu.ac.za 012 521 3286
Ms Lucillle Malan Lecturer Clinical Pharmacy: cardiovascular pharmacy and pharmacy education lucille.malan@smu.ac.za 012 521 3083
PHARMACY PRACTICE
Ms Elmarie Loock Lecturer

Acting HoD

Soft skills: “From bench to bedside” – Aspects of Communication and Conflict in Pharmacy Practice Interaction elmarie.loock@smu.ac.za 012 521 3046
School of Oral Health Science
Department/Section/Unit Title Initials Surname Email Address Field/s of Expertise
Dean: School of Oral Health Sciences Prof SJH Hendricks stephen.hendricks@smu.ac.za Oral Health Policy, Leadership & Governance, Public Health Policy, Biostatistics, Epemilogy, Demography,   Dental Public Health, National Health Insurance
Operative Dentistry Prof JH Olivier jan.olivier@smu.ac.za Stress amongst Dentists and coping with such stress
Prof IC du Preez ProIC.DuPreez@smu.ac.za Adhesive dental material sciences and evaluation of their clinical performance
Dr P Gwengu pumela.gwengu@smu.ac.za Endodontic dentistry, special interest in apexogenesis and apexification, rotary endodontics and retreatments. Maternal and child Oral health care programmes,clinical epidemiology
Dr N Msimanga ntombana.msimanga@smu.ac.za Aesthetics and Nonvital bleaching , management of dental trauma
Dr J Masekwameng johanna.masekwameng Early childhood caries and management of children under general anaesthesia
Dr CS Lefotlha Christina.Lefotlha@smu.ac.za Early childhood caries and special considerations for dental care of children living with HIV/AIDS
Dr J Mistry jyotika.mistry@smu.ac.za Aesthetic dentistry (direct composite restorations)
Dr SM Griesel Suretha.Griesel@smu.ac.za Dealing with uncooperative children; Aesthetic dentistry – direct veneers/componeers; vital bleaching
Endodontics Dr CH Jonker casper.jonker@smu.ac.za Endodontics: special interest in veterinary endodontics; rotary endodontics, instrument fracture removal, placement of MTA, complicated cases (resorbtion, perforations, trauma)
Periodontology and Oral Medicine Prof L Feller liviu.feller@smu.ac.za Oral melanin pigmantations; Implant surfaces; Oral cancer
Prof NH Wood neil.wood@smu.ac.za Oral HPV infection; HIV-associated oral lesions and diseases; Antibiotic prophylaxis; Periodontal regeneration
Prof RAG Khammissa razia.khammissa@smu.ac.za Immunopathogenic diseases of the oral cavity, oral melanoma, Kaposi sarcoma
Dr TD Kekana David.Kekana@smu.ac.za Teaching on oral oral ulceration & Candida albicans; Clinical diagnoses of oral soft tissue lesions; Endodontic treatment of traumatized anterior teeth; Composite restorations
Community Dentistry Prof P Motloba pagollang.motloba@smu.ac.za Epidemiology, bioethics, health systems, service learning
Dr MG Phalwane grace.phalwane@smu.ac.za Community Service Learning
Ms LN Molopyane Nteseng.molopyane@smu.ac.za Oral Health
Ms ME Mogodi mankate.mogodi@smu.ac.za Community & School oral health programme; Special patient care
Dr KJ Ramphoma Khabiso.Ramphoma.smu.ac.za Use of antibiotics in dentistry. Knowledge and management of oral HIV lesions, integration of basic oral health knowledge in the medical curriculum
Mr TG Malaka gracia.malaka@smu.ac.za understanding learning styles among BOH and BDT students
Dr ML Machete lesley.machete@smu.ac.za Health policy,Health systems,Service learning
Dr NL Makwakwa nokukhanya.makwakwa@smu.ac.za Health systems, malpractice in oral health, project management, special interest – biostatistics
Ms M M Masetla mary.masetla@smu.ac.za Dental Therapy Classes at Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University: Profiles and Future Plans of the Current Cohort
Oral Pathology, Microbiology Dr LM Masilo Letlhogonolo.Masilo@smu.ac.za Diagnostic histopathology of Odontogenic and Salivary Gland Diseases
Dr SR Mthethwa Rocky.Mthethwa@smu.ac.za Infection Control
Maxillofacial and Oral Radiology Dr S Singh sandeepa.singh@smu.ac.za Diagnostic Imaging,Radiographic interpretation Maxillofacial Pathology, Blended learning, Learning analytics
Dr V Peranovic (Sessional) vlasta.peranovic@smu.ac.za Diagnostic Imaging
Oral Biology Dr HD Miniggio Hilde.Hendrik@smu.ac.za Molecular biology of bone metabolism, signalling pathways in bone remodelling; Bioethics
Orthodontics Dr P Sethusa Peter.Sethusa@smu.ac.za Malocclusion types amongst South Africans; Orthognathic surgical management; Cleft Lip & Palate
Dr ME Makofane Mosidi.Makofane@smu.ac.za Malocclusion types amongst South Africans
Dr MI Khan mikhanortho@wol.co.za Malocclusion types amongst South Africans; Treatment methods related to the prevailing; Malocclusion types
Dr E Thomas elizabeth.thomas@smu.ac.za Malocclusion types amongst South Africans; Orthognathic surgical management; Cleft Lip & Palate
Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery Prof TI Munzhelele irene.munzhelele@smu.ac.za HIV and salivary glands
Dr JM Mchenga james.mchenga@smu.ac.za Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery; Trauma, Clefts education
Dr MM Tlholoe tlholoem@gmail.com Mandible reconstruction
Dr K Syebele kabunda.syebele@smu.ac.za Oro-facial Cysts
Prof MM Bouckaert mike.bouckaert@smu.ac.za Gross pathology, Orthognathic soft tissue reconstruction
Integrated Clinical Dentistry Dr N Nzima Nonhlanhla.Nzima@smu.ac.za Oral Health Diagnostics and Radiology and Dental Education
Prof OA Ayo-Yusuf lekan.ayo-yusuf@smu.ac.za Epidemiology and Policy analysis;Tobacco control; Health disparities and Resilience studies
Prosthodontics Dr A Fortuin alwyn.fortuin@smu.ac.za CAD/CAM; Implantology; Aesthetic dentistry; Contemporary Prosthodontics; Endodontics; Maxillofacial Prosthodontics; TMD
Dr SN Kabini shadrack.kabini@smu.ac.za Contemporary Prosthodontics; Maxillofacial Prosthodontics; Endodontics; Aesthetic Dentistry; Implantology; TMD
Prof PD Moipolai pusetso.moipolai@smu.ac.za Contemporary Prosthodontics; Maxillofacial Prosthodontics; TMD; Implantology; Education
Prof ARM Essop rashid.essop@smu.ac.za Maxillofacial prostheses
Nuclear Medicine
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. Trevor Mdaka Head of Department (HOD) Radio pharmacy Centre of Service and Training Excellence trevor.mdaka@smu.ac.za 012 521 4604
General Surgery
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. MZ Koto HOD Clinical Trial Laboratory zacharia.koto@smu.ac.za 012 521 4153
Skills Centre
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. I Treadwell Director Learning Opportunities, Objectives and Outcome Platform (LOOOP) ina.treadwell@smu.ac.za 012 521 3317
Plastic And Reconstructive Surgery
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. ZF Annandale HOD Cleft Palate Surgery and Management of Burns grysie.annandale@smu.ac.za 012 521 4006
Urology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof. SBA Mutambirwa HOD Combined Intersex Multi- disciplinary Team shingai.mutambirwa@smu.ac.za 012 521 5632
Human Nutrition & Dietetics
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Mrs M Manafe HOD Human Nutrition and Dietetics mashudu.manafe@smu.ac.za 012 521 4186
Mrs C MacDougall Senior Lecturer Therapeutic Nutritionist caida.macdougall@smu.ac.za 012 521 4296
Dr Ncube Senior Lecturer Food Service Management lindie.ncube@smu.ac.za 012 521 4079
Nursing Science
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr Yolinda Uys Lecturer Medical Surgical Nursing Occupational Nursing Science Evidence based practice and Education

Nursing Education

Yolinda.uys@smu.ac.za 012 521 3078
Occupational Therapy
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof TA Ramukumba HOD Occupational Therapy Education alfred.ramukumba@smu.ac.za 012 521 4495
Mrs RA Lesunyane Senior Lecturer Occupational Therapy in Psychiatry and Mental Health annah.lesunyane@smu.ac.za 012 521 4020
Physiotherapy
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Dr BF Mtshali Senior Lecturer Physiotherapy: Sport and Exercise Bhekiwe.Mtshali@smu.ac.za 012 521 4048
Public Health
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof K Mokwena HOD Health Promotion and Health Kebogile.Mokwena@smu.ac.za 012 521 4613
Prof S Madiba Acting HOD Adolescent Health sphiwe.madiba@smu.ac.za 012 521 3093
Speech Language Pathology & Audiology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof Sandra du Plessis HOD Multilingualism sandra.duplessis@smu.ac.za 012 521 3601
Director’s Office
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof OA Ayo-Yusuf Director Epidemiology and Policy analysis, Tobacco control, Health disparities and Resilience studies lekan.ayo-yusuf@smu.ac.za 012 521

4800/4801

Anatomical Pathology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof NM Bida HOD General Pathology meshack.bida@smu.ac.za 012 521 4414
Dr MJ Chokoe- Maluleka Consultant/ Lecturer Anatomical Pathology mmaphuti.chokoe@nhls.ac.za 012 521 4689
Dr BM Nemukongwe Consultant/ Lecturer Lymphoma brenda.ratlabala@nhls.ac.za 012 521 4190
Chemical Pathology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof AA Khine HOD Lipid disorders Ayeye.khine@smu.ac.za 012 521 4414
Dr KB Sedumedi Consultant/ Lecturer Nutritional anaemia in HIV patients Barbara.sedumedi@smu.ac.za 012 521 4250
Microbiology
Name Designation Field of Expertise E-mail Address Contact number
Prof M Nchabeleng HOD HIV Prevention, Clinical trials; Infection Control; Antimicrobial resistance maphoshane.nchabeleng@smu.ac.za 012 521 5667
Dr C Maluleka Pathologist Antimicrobial resistance (Beta-lactamase producing pathogens) mailto:maluleka_c@yahoo.com
caroline.maluleka@nhls.ac.za
012 521 4570
Dr M le Roux Senior Scientist Mycoplasmas; Sexually transmitted diseases; Molecular Biology marcelle.leroux@smu.ac.za 012 521 4109