Select Page

Dirisana Plus

  1. Home
  2.  » Dirisana Plus


Dirisana plus is a knowledge triangle opportunity co-funded by the capacity building project in higher education – an Erasmus plus programme of the European Union. Knowledge triangle in this project refers to the interaction between higher education, business, research and technology facilitated by innovation and collaboration and working towards sustainability.

Dirisana, a Setswana word, especially spoken in the north-western region of the province Gauteng, was the name given to the project as it reflects its origins and means “Working together”.

Other Role Players

The universities working together in this regard are three universities from Gauteng, South Africa: Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University, University of the Witwatersrand, and the University of Pretoria. The universities from Namibia are the University of Namibia and Welwitchia University and represent the plus in the project name. The programme countries from Europe are the University of Maastricht, Netherlands and the University of Turku, Finland.

This project was initiated to address universal educational challenges to ensure quality education by collaborating with others.  Educational training opportunities for staff have been provided in the form of training workshops, degree programmes and other contact sessions. Communal teaching material banks were created and collaborative educational research was initiated. Teaching material banks that have been created include the development of question banks and video lectures. Certain needs for equipment also existed.

The first year of the project 2021 was devoted to the preparation of teaching material and proposal writing for research projects. These projects were developed in 2022 and are now disseminated in 2023 on various social media channels as well as on Youtube and can be found on our Dirisana plus channel:

The activities on this page are co-funded by the European Union. Its contents are the sole responsibility of the Dirisana+ consortium and published by Sefako Makghato Health Sciences University and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union