Select Page


  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Explore SMU
  4.  » 
  5. Who We Are
  6.  » Chancellor

Academic Qualifications

Dr Mkhize Graduated with a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MB,ChB) Degree from the University of Kwa-Zulu Natal in 1982. He matriculated from Dlangezwa High School.

Career, Positions and Memberships

Dr Mkhize was the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs from 27 February 2018 to 25 May 2019. He was the longest serving Provincial Health member of the Executive Committee in the country. He had served as a Member of the Executive Council (MEC) for Health in KwaZulu-Natal from 1994 to 2004 and MEC for Finance and Economic Development from 2005 to 2009. He returned to South Africa in 1991 and worked at Themba Hospital and he started his private practice in Pietermaritzburg in late 1991.


He played a practical role in the process leading towards the establishment of a democratic government in this country, and served as a member of the ANC’s National Health Secretariat between 1991 and 1994. He was co-founded the Regional Health Forum and became a member of the National Health Forum, which is one of the structures which served as consultative avenues for stakeholders in the health sector across the country, and he was a member of the ANC’s National Health Secretariat – a structure that was tasked with the responsibility of developing the country’s health policy.


He also played an active role in the promotion of peace and stability in the KwaZulu-Natal. He was a leader of government business in KwaZulu-Natal. Dr Mkhize did his internship at Mc Cords Hospital in Durban in 1983 and he worked at Edendale Hospital in Pietermaritzburg in 1984 before going into exile in 1986; where he continued with his medical practice in Swaziland and Zimbabwe.


 Dr Zwelini Lawrence Mkhize was the Premier of KwaZulu-Natal Provincial from 6 May 2009 until 22 August 2013. Dr Zwelini Mkhize was the Treasurer-General of African National Congress. He is the leader of Government Business in KwaZulu-Natal; member of the ANC’s National Executive Committee (NEC); a Chairperson of the ANC’s National Education and Health sub-committee and Chairperson of 2010 World Cup Political Oversight Committee.


 Source: Department of Health Website