Select Page

International Students

About Advocacy and Diversity

The Advocacy and Diversity division is responsible (manage and coordinate) but not limited to the following six (6) functions:


  1. International Students
  2. Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University International Student Organisation (SMUISO)
  3. International Scholarship and Research funding
  4. International collaborations and partnerships
  5. International exchange programme for staff and students of the University
  6. International relations


International Scholarships and Research funding

  • Initiate and coordinate scholarships programmes of both staff and postgraduate students of the University, e.g Fulbright scholarship, Erasmus Mundus Scholarship, etc.


International Collaborations and Partnerships

  • Initiate, maintain and manages international collaborations and partnerships,
  • Facilitate and manages collaborative projects with international institutions and governments,
  • Manage database of collaborations and partnerships within the University.


International Exchange Programmes for staff and students of the University

  • Initiate and coordinate international scholarships programs of both staff and students of the University,
  • Initiate, facilitate and manages opportunities for SMU staff and students to participate in exchange programs with our partner Universities abroad,
  • Create and manage database of students on exchange programs,
  • Coordinate welcome activities for students on exchange programs,
  • Assist in arranging their accommodation on campus,
  • Advises and assist students with immigration matters.


International Relations

  • Actively participate in the activities of International Education Association of South Africa (IEASA),
  • Facilitate academic visits by staff into and out of the Sefako Makgatho Health Sceince University,
  • Promote SMU at international conferences and workshops,
  • Receive and entertain international visitors and delegations,
  • Liaise/interact with international relations divisions of government departments and related institutions on matters of common interest.