Select Page

Accolades and Achievements | All News

Re-appointment of Prof Demana to the board of SAHPRA

Prof Patrick Demana, the Dean of School of Pharmacy has been re-appointed by the Honourable Minister of Health, Dr Joe Phaahla as a Board Member of the South African Health Product Regulatory Authority (SAHPRA).

The appointment is effective from 01 October 2021 to 30 September 2024.

SAHPRA’s mandate is to regulate all health products for human use and also those applied for in case of veterinary applications in terms of their safety, efficacy and quality.  This include vaccines, complementary medicines, medical devices and in vitro diagnostics (IVDs), and clinical trials. Furthermore, SAHPRA has the added responsibility of overseeing radiation control in South Africa.

Prof Demana says that he is privileged and honoured to serve the South African population again in this role, and this demonstrates not only Minister’s confidence in him as such but also that of SMU.

As a Board member, he will contribute to overall good governance and provide oversight strategic direction for SAHPRA.

Prof Demana Ministerial Appointment 15Oct2021

Related News