Select Page

Accolades and Achievements | All News | Research | SMU Media | Student Media

Seven SMU Academics and Researchers awarded ratings by the National Research Foundation

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) is proud of its seven (7) academics and researchers who have recently been awarded ratings by the National Research Foundation (NRF). The seven are Professor Kebogile Mokwena, Prof H Kluyts, Prof, Mapaseka Seheri, Prof Lawrence Obi, Dr Samantha Govender, Dr M Mkolo and Dr Gauta Matlou. The NRF rating system is a key driver in the NRF’s aim to build a globally competitive science system in South Africa. It is a valuable tool for benchmarking the quality of our researchers against the best in the world. NRF ratings are allocated based on a researcher’s recent research outputs and impact as perceived by international peer reviewers. The rating system encourages researchers to publish high quality outputs in high impact journals/outlets. Rated researchers as supervisors will impart cutting-edge skills to the next generation of researchers.

The Research and Innovation Directorate through the leadership of Prof Mapaseka Seheri provides support to academic researchers throughout the application process which includes but not limited to: Information sessions, step-by-step guide on how to complete the Rating application form and one-on-one meetings with potential applicants.

The rating of individuals is based primarily on the quality and impact of their research outputs over the past eight years, taking into consideration the evaluation made by local and international peers. It identifies researchers who count among the leaders in their fields of expertise and gives recognition to those who constantly produce high quality research outputs. “Several South African universities use the outcomes of the NRF evaluation and rating process to position themselves as research-intensive institutions, while others provide incentives for their staff members to acquire and maintain a rating and give special recognition to top-rated researchers so is SMU”, says SMU Director of Research and Innovation Professor Mapaseka Seheri.

The ratings that are awarded fall within the following categories:
• A – Leading international researchers
• B – Internationally acclaimed researchers
• C – Established researchers
• P – Prestigious Awards
• Y – Promising young researcher

While it is also important to note that NRF provides incentive funding to researchers once they receive their rating, SMU also does provide incentives and acknowledge rated researchers during the Annual Vice Chancellor’s Excellence awards.

Detailed information on NRF Rating can be obtained at:

For institutional support, guidance and information please visit the Research and Innovation Directorate at 5th Floor Clinical Pathology Building or contact Prof LM Seheri (


Related News

Ms Nontlaza Sizani Elected as Deputy Chairperson of SMU Council

Ms Nontlaza Sizani Elected as Deputy Chairperson of SMU Council

At its meeting held on 9 May 2024, the Council of the University resolved to elect Ms Nontlaza Sizani to the position of Deputy Chairperson of Council. Ms Sizani, who has been a member of SMU Council since 2019, will replace Ms Mmanare Mamabolo in this role. Ms Sizani...

SMU Celebrates Africa Day

SMU Celebrates Africa Day

The month of May is traditionally called Africa Month across most African countries. This month, higher education institutions and other civic entities commemorate Africa Day in one way or another. Most of the time, Africa Day is celebrated through song and dance and...