Select Page




Pharmacy Practice

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Schools
  4.  » 
  5. Pharmacy
  6.  » 
  7. School of Pharmacy Academic Departments
  8.  » Pharmacy Practice


The Department of Pharmacy practice in the School of Pharmacy provides the necessary coursework and practical skills to ensure students are closely aligned with the required pharmacy practice experiences. In the undergraduate BPharm curriculum the Pharmacy Practice Department equip students with basic business, management, entrepreneurship and legal principals relating to the pharmacy environment. Students are also trained on the operational practices of community pharmacies from stock control to dispensing of prescriptions on pharmacy software in a simulated environment. The coursework and training provided by the Department is closely aligned and co-ordinated with the pharmacy practice experiences structured within the pharmacy curriculum. Experiential learning is also a requisite for Bachelor of Pharmacy students therefore our department for the purpose of education and training place students during their 3rd year of study at selected pharmacies to perform all the services and acts pertaining to the scope of practice of a pharmacist under the direct personal supervision of a pharmacist.

We also offer training for pharmacist assistants and a dispensing course for qualified medical doctors or professional nurses.


Pharmacy Practice Contact Number

Tel: 012 521 5703